Join VTS Trainers and Community Members from around the globe for FREE weekly VTS image discussions on Wednesdays at VTS Look Club Online! Register through the Events tab below. To find out more about Remote Learning with VTS and to peek at one of the images we will discuss at Look Club, check out the Image of the Week.

Close

Date

Apr 23 2024

Cost

FREE

Labels

Online

VTS + NAEA BIPOC Space for Museum Educators (FREE)

Visual Thinking Strategies and the Museum Education Division of NAEA are joining forces to host a virtual affinity space for museum educators who identify as BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, or People of Color) to discuss the unique challenges faced by BIPOC individuals in the field.

Who we are:

We are a group of museum educators who identify as BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, or People of Color) working to create a safe and inclusive space with fellow BIPOC museum educator colleagues. As individuals in the United States and globally are challenged to face the historic and present realities of systemic racism and white supremacy, the work of BIPOC educators becomes increasingly important and challenging—both professionally and personally. We hope to create this space for us to network, support, and uplift one another.

Our mission:

Provide support, resources, and a space to share our work and personal journeys as we navigate forward. We plan to meet regularly to identify the needs of BIPOC museum educators who join this space and to grow and develop according to these needs and hopes.

Please RSVP only once to receive the Zoom link. If you have registered for sessions, you do not need to re-register. You will receive a reminder email with the Zoom link the day of or day before the session.

If you wish to be “unsubscribed” from the mailing list at any time, please email Tatiana Sanguinette at tsanguinette@vtshome.org with that intention and you will be removed. Email frequency is at most three times monthly.

 

Upcoming Open Sessions and Happy Hours:

 

January 2024 Happy Hour: Tuesday, January 23, 2024

2 PM Hawai‘i / 4 PM Pacific / 5 PM Mountain / 6 PM Central / 7 PM Eastern

 

February 2024 Open Session: Monday, February 26, 2024

11 AM Hawai‘i / 1 PM Pacific / 2 PM Mountain / 3 PM Central / 4 PM Eastern

 

March 2024 Happy Hour: Monday, March 18, 2024

12 PM Hawai‘i / 3 PM Pacific / 4 PM Mountain / 5 PM Central / 6 PM Eastern

 

April 2024 Open Session: Tuesday, April 23, 2024

10 AM Hawai‘i / 1 PM Pacific / 2 PM Mountain / 3 PM Central / 4 PM Eastern

 

May 2024 Happy Hour: Monday, May 20, 2024

1 PM Hawai‘i / 4 PM Pacific / 5 PM Mountain / 6 PM Central / 7 PM Eastern

 

June 2024 Open Session: Tuesday, June 11, 2024

10 AM Hawai‘i / 1 PM Pacific / 2 PM Mountain / 3 PM Central / 4 PM Eastern

 

Please contact VTS BIPOC Space Coordinators with any questions: