We have a new way of providing group subscriptions on the VTS site. Rather than allowing group subscription administrators to share a common user account among all of its members, we’re going the more secure route, requiring that every person who accesses a subscription have their own account on the site, and leaving the control of the subscription account itself in the hands of the administrator.

Here’s how that will work:

The administrator controls the subscription

For new subscribers as well as for those who had existing subscriptions moved over onto the new site, purchasing a subscription grants access only to the user who purchased it (usually an institutional administrator or human-resources person). No one else may log in to the site simultaneously using these credentials.

Administrators can invite other users in

At the time of purchase, the site also created a unique code and password tied to the subscription. The administrator can freely share this code and password with the institution’s members, up to 50 of whom can create their own accounts on the site and use the credentials to become a part of the group subscription. (More on this under “Redeeming a Group Subscription”)

How to find your credentials

To find these credentials and to see the status of a group subscription, administrators can log in to the My Account page. Once logged in, they’ll see information pertaining to their own account and can click “Subscriptions” to view any active subscriptions.

On the Subscriptions page, click the ID number of any active subscription.

This brings up the individual subscription page, where you’ll see the subscription’s status, start date, next payment date, and then the all-important Subscription Code and Subscription Password. These are the credentials that you can send along to your members. (Those who purchase subscriptions after the launch of the new site will also have these credentials emailed to their address once their purchase clears.)

How to manage your members

Further down the page, you can see which and how many users have joined your subscription using the credentials you shared with them, as well as how many openings you have left. You can also delete a member from your subscription if, for example, that member is no longer part of your organization. (This will also free up spaces for more members.)

Make sure to keep your subscription active

All users who have redeemed a group subscription using your credentials enjoy the same access to teaching materials and other tools as the subscription administrator does. However, because their access is tied to the subscription, they will immediately lose access if the subscription expires or is canceled.